Venice 2022 Overview

Venice 2022 Overview

With 78 sessions, the Privacy Symposium conference of 2022 gave the floor to 245 experts in data protection, including national authorities, European institutions, and international organizations. It brought together about 500 registered participants plus 350 remote participants, in line with its ambition to support international dialogue, cooperation and knowledge sharing.

From health data protection to artificial intelligence and quantum computing, the conference demonstrated how important it is to bring together the legal experts, the practitioners and the research community. It highlighted the potential of joining forces to support and enhance data protection across borders and technologies.

The conference also made clear that most participants share the same fundamental values and vision across countries and regions, with a strong potential to learn from each other, and to enhance personal data protection by working together.

Hosting the conference in Venice has been highly inspiring in this human and intellectual encounter. It brought new perspectives on privacy and data protection and contributed to set the foundations of new collaboration bridges.

Discover some of the sessions that have been recorded there:

Some Speakers of the Privacy Symposium 2022

Andrea Jelinek

President of the European Data Protection Board, President of the Austrian Data Protection Authority

Guido Scorza

Member of the Board of the Italian Data Protection Supervisory Authority

Paul Nemitz

Principal Advisor in the Directorate General for Justice and Consumers of the European Commission

Katherine Harman-Stokes

Acting Director of US Department of Justice Office of Privacy and Civil Liberties

Wojciech Wiewiórowski

European Data Protection Supervisor

Fumio Shimpo

Keio University, Commissioner PPC Japan

Ulrich Kelber

Federal Commissioner for Data Protection and Freedom of Information at BfDI

Attila Péterfalvi

President of the Hungarian National Authority for Data Protection and Freedom of Information

Catherine Lennman

Swiss Data Protection Authority

Steve Wood

Deputy Commissioner at ICO

Isabelle Servoz-Gallucci

Head of the Data Protection Unit at Council of Europe

Alessandra Pierucci

Chair of the Committee of Convention 108 at Council of Europe

Peter Kimpian

Data Protection Unit at Council of Europe

Julie Brill

Chief Privacy Officer and Corp. Vice President, Global Privacy and Regulatory Affairs, Microsoft Corp

Vinton G. Cerf

Father of the Internet and Vice-President of Google

Audrey Plonk

Head of the Digital Economy Policy (DEP) Division of the Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) OECD

Joe Jones

Deputy Director for International Data Transfers at Culture, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
David Stevens

David Stevens

President of the Belgian Data Protection Authority

Roberto Cascella

Senior Policy Manager at ECSO

Joann O’Brien

Vice President, Digital Ecosystems, TM Forum

Luca Bolognini

President of the Italian Institute for Privacy

Yuri van Steenwijk

President of the International Board of ELSA

Kari Laumann

Head of Section for Research, Analysis and Policy & Project Manager for the Regulatory Sandbox at the Norwegian Data Protection Authority

Gwendal Le Grand

Head of Activity for Enforcement Support and Coordination at EDPB

Marie-Louise Gächter

Head of Data Protection Authority of the Principality of Liechtenstein

Conor Hogan

Global Practice Director – Data Governance at Digital Trust Consulting Services, BSI Group

Urszula Góral

Director of the International Cooperation and Education Department at the Polish Personal Data Protection Office

Latif Ladid

President of IPv6 FORUM

Thomas Hahn

President of BDVA

Laure Le Bars

President of QuiC

Anand Rao

Global Artificial Intelligence Lead at PwC

Tomaso Falchetta

Global Policy Lead at Privacy International

Estelle Massé

Senior Policy Analyst and Global Data Protection Lead at Access Now

Fabrice Naftalski

Global Head of Data Protection Law Practice at Ernst & Young Société d'Avocats

Paolo Balboni

Professor of Privacy, Cybersecurity, and IT Contract Law at ECPC within the Maastricht University

Cécile Théard-Jallu

Partner at De Gaulle Fleurance & Associés, Vice-Chair of the Healthcare & Life Sciences Law Committee

Rob van Eijk

Managing Director for Europe at Future of Privacy Forum

Eva Fogelström

Director of the Security Research Department within Ericsson Research

Antonio Skarmeta

CTO of OdinS, Professor at University of Murcia

Sébastien Ziegler

President of the IoT Forum and European Centre for Certification and Privacy


Organizing Committee

ECPCLOGO_NEW_no background png

Administration And Communication Partners

The secretariat of the conference is provided by the foundation Mandat International, with the support of the Italian Institute for Privacy (IIP), Archimede Solutions, IoT Lab, and Dunavnet.

CF logo pos orizz P207 inglese

Media Partner

Support Partners

Under the auspices of the Italian Supervisory Authority